Our Judges


Head judge Noel Chiswick

Noel Chidwick is co-founder, Editor-in-chief and Editor of Shoreline of Infinity Science Fiction Magazine and other science fictional happenings. He’s been reading science fiction since the early 70s and has found no reason to stop.

He’s a singer-songwriter with Painted Ocean, occasional playwright and his favourite hobby is to approach a button and wonder, “What happens if I press this?” and then press it.

Noel will judge the stories in both categories.

About Shoreline of Infinity

Shoreline of Infinity is Scotland’s award-winning magazine for science fiction writing. Since its first issue in July 2015, Shoreline has published dozens stories, poems and pieces of art over 13 issues. In 2018 the British Fantasy Society recognized the Shoreline team for their hard work with the Award for best magazine/periodical.

Noe with the BSFA Award


Judging Category 14 to 17

Image Credit: Elizabeth May

Laura Lam

Originally from sunny California, Laura Lam now lives in cloudy Scotland. Her next novel is the feminist space opera, Seven Devils, co-written with Elizabeth May. Lam is also the author of BBC Radio 2 Book Club section False Hearts, the companion novel Shattered Minds, as well as the award-winning Micah Grey series Pantomime, Shadowplay, and Masquerade. Her short fiction and essays have also appeared in anthologies such as Nasty Women, Solaris Rising 3, Cranky Ladies of History, and more. She lectures part-time at Edinburgh Napier University on the Creative Writing MA.


Eris Young

Eris Young is a queer, trans writer and editor of speculative fiction. They are the managing editor of fantasy magazine Æther/Ichor and their short fiction can be found in the anthologies F, M or Other from Knight Errant Press and We Were Always Here from 404 Ink, as well as various magazines.


Judging Category 18 plus

Image Credit: Marzena Pogorzaly

Image Credit: Marzena Pogorzaly

Anne Charnock

Anne Charnock’s writing career began in journalism. Her articles appeared in the Guardian, New Scientist, International Herald Tribune and Geographical. Her debut novel, A Calculated Life, was a finalist for the 2013 Philip K. Dick Award and the 2013 Kitschies Golden Tentacle Award. Her second novel, Sleeping Embers of an Ordinary Mind, was included in the Guardian’s “Best science fiction and fantasy books of 2015.” In 2017 her story The Enclave won the British Science Fiction Association Award for Short Fiction 2017, and in 2019 she scooped up the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2018 for Dreams Before the Start of Time.

Image Credit: Andrea Heins

Image Credit: Andrea Heins

Neil Williamson

Neil Williamson was born in Motherwell, Scotland and now lives in Glasgow. He is a writer and musician. His first short story was published inTerritories magazine in 1994. His other works include: The Ephemera, which was shortlisted for the British Fantasy Award, Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction, which was shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award and The Moon King, which was runner-up for the BSFA award and shortlisted for the Robert Holdstrock award.