Back to All Events

Philip Caveney and Dawn Finch

Philip Caveney's first novel was published in 1977. Since then, he has published many novels for adults and several series for children that have sold all over the world. In addition to the Sebastian Darke series and the Alec Devlin Mysteries, he has written the Crow Boy trilogy for Fledgling Press. Philip also writes as Danny Weston and won the Scottish Book Trust Teen Award 2016 for his book, The Piper. In his most recent book The Slithers, a young boy discovers an ancient evil that lives underground…

Dawn grew up in a book filled house on the river's edge of a tough London-overspill council estate. When she was ten her dad brought home a bundle of old books, including a volume of Edgar Allan Poe stories and this launched a lifetime fascination with antiquarian books and history. At the age of eleven, a fierce librarian refused to lend her a copy of Bram Stoker's Dracula on the grounds that she was too young to read it. This meant she had to hide it in various places around the library and return each day to read a bit more. Dawn Finch is a children's author, researcher and librarian. Her debut YA fantasy novel, Brotherhood of Shades, tells the story of Adam. Growing up on the streets of London, Adam knows nothing of the dark and precarious world that exists just beyond his reality – until he dies, cold and alone, aged 14. Now, after years of abandonment, Adam discovers he is important: an Order that was formed many centuries ago to protect the world of the living from the world of the dead needs him – an Order of ghosts.

Find out more about: Philip Caveney and Dawn Finch!

Running time: 60 minutes

Tickets: £8/ £6 concession